1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stages In Healing?

Discussion in 'Mental Health Issues' started by Nyx, Oct 26, 2010.

1. Nyx

Nyx Learning to love myself

Just out of curiosity... Do any of you know if there are common stages we go through while healing? Like denial, fall-outs or any other?

It's a curiosity of mine because I'm new to therapy, new to this road towards healing, and I really hate not knowing what lies ahead. I've already been through a lot of emotions just the past weeks and I think I would better handle them if I knew what was coming around the corner.

I know we are unique and have different ways of expressing/feeling/perceiving, but what if there's a common ground to it?
  2. anthony

anthony Tech Support Staff Member

Healing is sporadic at the best of times... and cannot really be classified into expression stages.

Is there a pattern? Yes... denial is typically present initially, though denial can still be present after healing in regards to one or two specifics that the individual keeps from others during the entire process... usually a tell tail sign after a year when the person isn't getting any better / finding any relief. Denial can be assigned to secrets or merely the true effort being given into tasks... ie. I did my best (realistic - I gave up the moment I started having some anxiety or a panic attack) vs. I broke down the first time, achieve x the next time, achieved y the next time, went backwards a bit the next time... achieved z the next time after having a break for week, etc etc.